The vast

It took hold of my hand
And gently led me to the edge of the chasm
Its urging was strong, and its chastising, heavy

“Be humble in your ways
For knowledge is a dissatisfying conundrum
And understanding is a weight on the heart
The knowledgeable knows only a figment of the vastness of knowledge
And the learned knows only an iota of the finitude of understanding
and in the face of such ambiguity, lies the anchors
That upon the soul, pull

Yes! Understanding took hold of my hand
It lead me to the edge, and pointed to the vastness of knowledge
And the futility of the quest engulfed my being
For the more of it I gained, the more I knew was beyond me
Understanding is the acceptance of the incalculability of knowledge
And life, a mere introduction to an index of knowledge
Lo, eternity and strength would only make visible a part
And we are just mere mortals; finite in existence and capacity
Why then should one boast?
Why then should one boast in knowledge?

For, is not wisdom an acceptance of the vastness of ignorance?
Is ignorance the knowledge that much is unknown?
or the absence of of such knowing?
Is the one who knows his knowledge is limited worse?
Worse than one who thinks his finite knowledge is absolute?
Is not the latter of greater harm to all?
That in his skewed confidence, may lead many astray
On such thought did my soul cling to; And heavy was it

On the edge we sat; Chasm before us
For dismay had seized my heart
And my soul was downcast at the vastness of knowledge beyond reach
But understanding will not let me be
For it had become my ever present companion
And my heart dreaded its torment; for they were true
Yet, understanding spoke

Seek wisdom
For it is the bread of kings
It supersedes knowledge and yes, Me; understanding
For it listens to to the high and low; the learned and ignorant
It listens to life and death; The noble and the peasant
And weighs their mind
That in its time, it may understand its little
And in its understanding find joy

Cast your eyes off the chasm; Lay them on this cliff
And let the earth beneath you bring joy
Find it in the acceptance of your finitude
For there is beauty in end;
Seek wisdom; Seek it with all of you
For only in it, can this thirst be quenched

And through the sorrow, my soul was lifted
For understanding had shown a light into the vastness
For yes! Knowledge is vital. Seek it.
But wisdom!
Wisdom is like a golden fruit, born of the heavens
Pleasant to the eyes; sensual to the senses
Satisfying the hungry; intoxicating in its smell
And in wisdom, lies the Socratic paradox
for I know one thing; that I know nothing”

 

 

Leave a comment