Rapids and calm

Let me numb this flowing river.
These raging rapids will not let me
lie with sleep.

I am [I know]
a crumpled brown leaf; stiff.
The bobbling excitement of these
white waters are not my
desire.

Thicken its flow.
Let it meet the open waters
or the vine filled delta.
Where the hug of tree stumps
and the locks of monsters
break its race.

There, eyes leaning on parades
of teeth; the crocodile preys. There,
the expanse of the dragon fly
startles the damp cold air.
There the unabated chirp
of the emboldened bird
travels for miles.

Let me find it here.
This water there is calm.

Leave a Reply

