This weight

Those knees are bruised and bleeding
I plead with you. Get off them
Lift them from the hard surface they rest
Ease the pain off them; for they scream in agony
Lift them up from the ground, for they have endured much
Let them suffer no more
Let them see rest
Lift them off the ground, for they have more walking to do

********************************************************************************

A mighty weight has fallen on them
These knees were never meant for this
My feet have given up, and I now rest low
Life has struck again, and the strength has ebbed away from my legs
I feel closer to the earth, and I wish not to get up
Leave me here!
Let your vision soar over me
For on these knees, I choose to mourn my defeat

This agony of disappointment is too heavy
The theft of satisfaction is done, and this heart has grown weary
Who can lift this sorrow of my shoulder?
For defeat seems to have taken abode in me
My veins are drained of blood
They run now with fragments of my broken dreams
Tearing every sliver of hope that remained
Who can deliver me from this pain?

My knees hurt but I still cant get up
The weight of disappointment is heavy on me
My soul is pressed down by this burden
I am weary of progress
My senses are filled with the smell of failure
Leave me here to sleep out this darkness
For light seems estranged from me
Leave me! I am too tired to get off these knees
Let my penitence come from this
From my bruised and bleeding knees

Leave a comment